Utah People's Party

…proclain liberty through out all the land….(Leviticus 25:10)

The Gospel

on September 16, 2012

If you feel that the duties of a citizen are too great a burden for you to bear, be comforted for we have good news.  We take all quotes below from the King James Version of the Bible, LDS edition.

“Come unto me, all ye that Labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”(Matthew 11:28 – 30)

This claim that our burdens will be light if we go to the Lord seems strange to some people since Jesus also said, “Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.” (Matthew 5:48). How can a requirement to be perfect be a light burden? This burden can be much lighter than we think if we rely on the Lord to help us carry it. It is when we rely on our own wisdom and strength or that of other people that we meet one disappointment after another.

“…The main idea of the word [Grace] is divine means of help or strength, given through the bounteous mercy and love of Jesus Christ….It is … through the grace of the Lord that individuals, through faith in the atonement of Jesus Christ and repentance of their sins, receive strength and assistance to do good works that they otherwise would not be able to maintain if left to their own means. This grace is an enabling power that allows men and women to lay hold on eternal life …after they have expended their own best efforts….Divine grace is needed by every soul … because of man’s weaknesses and shortcomings. However, grace cannot suffice without total effort on the part of the recipient….It is truly the grace of Jesus Christ that makes salvation possible. This principle is expressed in Jesus’ parable of the vine and the branches.” (Bible Dictionary: Grace)

“I am the vine, ye are the branches; He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit; for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abides not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered…. If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be
done unto you. Hear in is my Father Glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.” (John 15:5-8)

What each of us needs is a better relationship with God. No mortal person can provide you with help anywhere near as valuable as the help you will receive from God if you seek Him.

“It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning…. The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.” (Lamentations 3:22 – 25)

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil…. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29: 11 – 13)

You may suppose that God must hate you because there are people in His church that do hate you. Please understand. People that hate you are lost and confused souls just like you. God loves them for the same reason that He loves you, because his love is unconditional. If he had a rule that he would not love people who hate you, would his love then be unconditional?

“And there were … shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them … and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring your good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord…. And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.” (Luke: 2: 8-14)

The angel who spoke to the shepherds told them that they need not fear. Why? Because they had a Savior. “The word gospel means good news. The good news is that Jesus Christ has made a perfect atonement for mankind …” (Bible Dictionary: Gospels). If your civic duties seem too heavy, use the gospel, the good news that your Lord does not require you to bear the weight of your responsibilities alone. If you do not know how to use the grace of your Savior, find out now.  You will of course have to ask your Heavenly Father. If you need to ask your Bishop or other priesthood leader, do that right away.

Leave a Reply

